2020 World Rally Championship: Rally Mexico

2020 WRC: Round 3, Rally Mexico

Following a pre-event shakedown, Rally Mexico got underway with two stages through the spectacular streets and tunnels of Guanajuato. All three Yaris WRC drivers made it cleanly through the tricky 1.12km route. Toyota’s championship leader Elfyn Evans was second fastest on both passes, which positioned him in second place overall, while team-mates Sébastien Ogier and Kalle Rovanperä were in sixth and eighth respectively.

Toyota Gazoo Racing 2020 WRC Mexico

As championship leader for the first time in his career, Evans was required to run first and clear the opening gravel stage for those behind. This initially slowed his pace to seventh but by the end of the day he recovered some lost ground and climbed to third. Team-mate Ogier was quick to capitalise on this early disadvantage and moved up into second on the El Chocolate stage, but then set the fastest time on special stage four at Ortega to claim the lead. Consistent further runs, as well as two stage wins on the Autodromo super special, increased Ogier’s advantage.

Toyota Gazoo Racing 2020 WRC Mexico

In light of fast-changing travel restrictions connected with the global coronavirus outbreak, Rally Mexico was brought to an early conclusion on the evening of day two. Ogier was therefore awarded the outright win after having dominated the latter stages – in particular a stunning win on SS13 Guanajuatito – and extending his lead to a significant 27.8 seconds.

Toyota Gazoo Racing 2020 WRC Mexico

The result marks Ogier’s sixth Rally Mexico win in eight years and moves him into the lead of the championship ahead of team-mate Evans, who finished fourth. New rookie signing Rovanperä continued his impressive pace with his third top five finish in the Yaris WRC. With this all-new driver line-up having secured two wins in three events, Toyota has now increased its lead in the 2020 manufacturers’ championship to 21 points.

Toyota Gazoo Racing 2020 WRC Mexico

2020 World Rally Championship – Toyota Gazoo Racing positions in Round 3
1Sébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia2h 47m 47.6s
4Elfyn Evans / Scott Martin+ 01m 13.4s
5Kalle Rovanperä / Jonne Halttunen+ 02m 20.5s
2020 World Rally Championship – Toyota Gazoo Racing championship positions
1Sébastien Ogier / Julien Ingrassia62 points
2Elfyn Evans / Scott Martin54 points
4Kalle Rovanperä / Jonne Halttunen40 points

Toyota Gazoo Racing 2020 WRC Mexico

2020 WRC: What’s next?

Rally Argentina has been postponed due to measures regarding the coronavirus outbreak. So the next event on the 2020 WRC schedule is Rally de Portugal on 21-24 May.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To be the first to hear about all of our latest news, offers and events, check the box below, we’ll send these communications by email, phone, SMS or post. Be assured that Toyota will only share your personal information with companies that are an integral part of fulfilling the services we deliver. If you would like to find out more about how we process your data please visit our privacy policy for details.

I understand that I can unsubscribe at any time.